Christ Church College originally a tiny Anglo Indian School was founded in 1878 by Mr. H. McConoghey with only two students at Cantonment Road, Lucknow. The School was registered under the name of Christ Church McConoghey School Society, Lucknow under the societies Registration Act XXI of 1860 and governed by the Diocese of Lucknow C.N.I. having its head office at 25 M.G. Road, Allahabad.

The foundation stone of Christ Church College at the present site was laid an 31st January 1939 by Lady Haig. For many years this school was only upto class VIII and in 1967 it had become an intermediate college.

In 1960 a new building was added which was opened by the Lord Bishop of Lucknow. Since then there was no looking back as the institution developed at a rapid pace. Physics, Chemistry and Biology Laboratories were set up and in 1972 under the administration of Mr. J.M. Ledlie the Principal’s Residence was constructed within the College Premises. The Din Dayal Auditorium and the Administrative Block were constructed during the Principalship of Mr. J.M. Ledlie and were declared open by the then Governor of U.P. Dr. M. Chenna Reddy on 24th February 1975 and dedicated by the Rt. Rev. Din Dayal Bishop of Lucknow. The College was also affiliated to the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi in 1975.

During the tenure of Late Mr. N.F. Cleophas a branch of Christ Church College was started at Rae Bareilly in 1988 under the name of St. James School Mr. V. Russell took charge of the school in April 1990 and he started a branch of Christ Church College by the name of Raja Maharaj Singh School in the Compound of the Zahur Bux Church.

In 1996 the foundation stone of a new block was laid by Rt. Rev. A.R. Stephen Bishop of Diocese Lucknow C.N.I. and Prayed upon by late Rev. A.C.V. Russell. The building consisting of four floors with eight rooms on each floor was dedicated to late Rev. A.R. Yusuf by the Chairman of the Managing Committee Rt. Rev. A.R. Stephen Bishop of Diocese of Lucknow C.N.I.

A Mini Stadium with a lush green field was inaugurated by the Chairman of the Managing Committee Rt. Rev. A.R. Strephen The College is now a full fledged Anglo Indian European Co-educational College Catering to the needs of 2500 students.

As per traceable records, given below are the names of Principals of this institution along with their tenure of service.

S.No. Name From To
1. Miss A Pushong January 1925 December 1941
2. Mrs. E. Howe January 1942 January 1943
3. Mrs. K. Rawkins February 1943 December 1948
4. Mrs. E. Shannahan January 1949 December 1952
5. Mrs. D. Jones January 1953 May 1953
6. Mrs. M. Sealy July 1953 June 1963
7. Rev. T. Tewari July 1963 January 1971
8. Mrs. A. Vashist February 1971 June 1971
9. Mr. J.M Ladlie July 1971 April 1980
10. Mr. N.F. Cleophas May 1980 March 1990
11. Mr. V. Russell April 1990 June 2006
12. Mr. R. K. Chattree July 2006